Views
Helpful
Replies

Best Firewall to choose for enterprise network

sami2022
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I'm new to Cisco Firewalls, and I have questions about enterprise network design, so the requirements are:

- VPN site to site and remote access for 100 user.

- IP packets Inspection.

- Supports IPS and IDS.

- Supports routing between internal networks (OSPF, IEGRP, RIP) We may need BGP in the future.

- And what is the recommended management tool for this device Maybe in the future we will add some cisco devices to the network, Currently, we are using Netgear switches and Mikrotik routers.

I searched for a while to see which firewall fits these requirements and got this Cisco ASA 5525-x firewall but I have never used Cisco before, I need your help to decide.

Thank you so much for your advice!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

The 2100 series will give you everything that your requirements specify and will allow for future expansion.  Again, depending on your future network plans, I would recommend considering the FPR2130 or FPR2140as this will give you an option to install a 10Gig SFP module if you at some point would require this.

--
Please remember to select a correct answer and rate helpful posts

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9

Philip D'Ath
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

I'm surprised a 100-user site requires OSPF, EIGRP, RIP and BGP.  If you removed that requirement, I would say hands down a Cisco Meraki MX.  Something around the size of an MX85.
https://meraki.cisco.com/product/security-sd-wan/medium-branch/mx85/ 
It is cloud managed.  You only need a web browser.

If the routing protocols are a hard requirement, then I would look at the Cisco Firepower 1000 series.
https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/security/firepower-1000-series/index.html