cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco RVS4000 NAT to my Cisco ASA 5505 Firewall

CyberWolves_2
Level 1
Level 1

I’ve been using a Cisco ASA 5505 Security Plus bundle for two years now without any problems. My previous Internet Service Provider was routing the external IP I was leasing directly through to my internal network without NAT which my ASA 5505 was working well with. Thus, I had configured my 5505 to provide NAT to my inside network which includes two subnets one for my workstations and internal "private" resources and a DMZ to provide access to my webserver, email server and two domain name servers; but restrict access to my internal; resources.

I recently changed my ISP to Verizon FiOS (which is providing me with 25 Mb bandwidth at a fraction of the cost of my old T1) which is set up to provide 5 Static externally facing IP numbers for my email, webserver and name servers;. The problem is the Verizon router doesn’t support my use of the ASA Appliance (at least not the way it is currently configured. Verizon recommend I purchase a business class router and use it in place of the one they provided with my installation. With this in mind, I bought a Cisco RVS4000. I have configured it to use the primary external IP number and have internet access; however, the new router is providing NAT addressing which the ASA is in conflict with (they are both using the same NAT IP range). I'm assuming the ASA 5505 is expecting to have access to the external IP addressed (since that is what it was getting before) and NOT NAT address. I have to admit I don’t know a lot about networking and am hoping someone can tell me how to configure the new router to either provide access to the five static external “real world” IP to my Cisco ASA Firewall. However, the Cisco Router forum suggested I should reach out the ASA 5505 forum to seek assistance
here. I'm open to other options and suggestion.