Views
Helpful
Replies

configure DMZ on FDM-FTD 5516

PenielIpo3099
Level 1
Level 1

This is my scenario:

I am trying to move the webserver, ntp server, and some other internet-based servers to DMZ. I have re-imaged ASA to FTD, managed by FDM. I have some knowledge on configuring using cli, however, not much on FDM. I have configured a new interface on the FDM, created a security Zone for DMZ, access list, NAT yet to. I understand that security level for inside interface is 100, outside is 0, DMz should be 50. I have a 9200L switch to connect to FTD. My problem is HOW CAN I CONFIGURE BOTH FDM AND SWITCH TO ALLOW COMMUNICATION TO EACH OTHER?? 

Any idea given should be highly appreciated. Please assist. 

9 Replies 9

The FTD doesn't work with security levels. Instead the interfaces get security zones which are used for example in your Access-Control policy. It is a different way to control traffic compared to the ASA.

Thanks, i understand that. However, my question is different-i am struggling to get communication from from switch to the FDM. I have configured FDM interface but not sure. This is what i did on both fdm and switch:

FDM: interface 1/6 -no ip address, created subinterface with ip address 192.168.50.2, vlan 50, 

switch: int 1/0/24 

interface FastEthernet0/24

description Connection Primary RG_FTD

duplex half

speed 10

vlan 1

int vlan 192.168.50.2

i am not sure if i am correct

By default the FDM is only accessible through the Management-Port. I would leave it this way as it is much simpler than the access on a data interface. And your config is conceptional wrong:

• If you have a sub interface in the FTD, you need a Trunk and a VLAN interface in the same VLAN on the switch.
  • Both devices are not allowed to share the same IP
  • Any why do you have 17/half?

But if you want to go that way, you need at least version 6.7 on the FTD. And need to configure this in the FDM Manager access options.