Views
Helpful
Replies

FTD LAN Setup

S3C
Level 1
Level 1

Hello!

Im kinda new to the FTD, used to pure CLI and not gui.

So I have this task to setup a VERY secure LAN network with 1 switch (5 vlans, 1 device per vlan) & 1 Cisco FTD.

Devices/VLANS -> Switch -> FTD

1/1 interface on FTD will be connected to Switch (inbound & outbound will be on same interface).

Fyi, this stage is only testing and will be in production if works by next year.

My questions is:

- What should the 1/1 be configured as? (routed or switchport/trunk)

- Do I need to add the VLANs on the FTD as well in order for it to segregate, inspect packages, access control, rules, zones etc for all the vlans? or is it just enough to have the vlans setuped on the switch.

Thanks for the help. 

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Assuming you are using the Firepower Device Manager (FDM) GUI, you need to go under interfaces and add subinterfaces to the 1/1 parent interface. 1/1 will have to be unconfigured before doing so (no name or IP address etc.).

Each subinterface will be routed mode with the VLAN ID indicated.

On the switch side it would be one trunk port to the FTD appliance.

The alternative is to use one physical interface per VLAN. Layer 3 inter-VLAN (inter-subnet) occurs only on the FTD so the switch must not have any SVIs in the subnets or else it will see itself as connected (admin distance = 0) and automatically route the traffic.

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

You need make Sub interface on FTD and make them in differet Zone (outside and inside your case), same Switch siide ( you can use Trunk/port) with sub interface.

good guide to understand :

https://docs.defenseorchestrator.com/Configuration_Guides/Interfaces/Switch_Port_Mode_Interfaces_for_Firepower_Threat_Defense

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

Hello!

You mean different zones per sub interface?