cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

I can't download ftp from inside my ASA 5510

Brandon Svec
Level 7
Level 7

I just installed an ASA 5510 and got just about everything I needed on it working such as DHCP server, remote client VPN and some public servers accessible that sit on the inside network.  I configured everything with ASDM since I am new to Cisco ASA.

Today I discovered that I can't download ftp files from workstations on the inside interface.  I have searched a lot and this seems to be a somewhat common issue, but none of the things I have tried will make it work.  In general, I have seen that if these commands are in the ASA it should work:

ftp mode passive

policy-map global_policy
class inspection_default
  inspect ftp

They are, but it still won't work.  Here is an example of a failed ftp session:

brandon-svecs-computer:~ bsvec$ ftp XX.X.249.145
Connected to XX.X.249.145.
220-FileZilla Server version 0.9.23 beta
220 Welcome to NexAira Engineering FTP Site/
Name (XX.X.249.145:bsvec): username
331 Password required for username
Password:
230 Logged on
Remote system type is UNIX.
ftp> bin
200 Type set to I
ftp> get Cbeyond\ ML3.zip
local: Cbeyond ML3.zip remote: Cbeyond ML3.zip
227 Entering Passive Mode (XX,XX,249,145,7,50)
150 Connection accepted
  0% |                                                     |     0        0.00 KiB/s    --:-- ETA

Then it just sits there. One strange thing is that one of these sessions seems to have worked after 15-20 minutes when I forgot about it..

Similarly in windows the ftp download will fail through browser or command line, but on one ocassion a file downloaded 20 minutes later..

I attached my config.  Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks,

Brandon

-- please remember to rate and mark answered helpful posts --
5 Replies 5

Tanveer Deewan
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

There is a server in your network 10.10.10.41 with the following static nat.

static (inside,outside) xx.xx.133.242 10.10.10.41 netmask 255.255.255.255