Views
Helpful
Replies

My Python script to query FMC API for list of sensor names and IPs

matty-boy
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I thought it was about time I gave something back to the community so here goes....

I've been playing with the REST API to try and get data out of the Firepower FMC using the API explorer (https://<YOUR_FMC_IP_ADDRESS>/api/api-explorer).

The natural progression is to try and script it. I chose Python rather Perl cos snakes are way cooler than jewels! :-)

I've attached my script. It's not pretty. I'm not a programmer so please don't ridicule me! The bulk of the script was generated by the FMC API explorer, I just added a few bits 'n' bobs so that it would return the fields I was interested in.

Line 59 can be edited to change which JSON list entries are returned - for me, just the name and IP (called hostName weirdly) was enough for now but returning each device UUID would enable you to use this to make further queries against the devices for things like interface IPs and so on.

If like me you are just starting out in the world of Python you'll need to install the Python interpreter (https://www.python.org/downloads/windows/) and to run my script you may need to install some of the libraries (I can't remember which are pre-installed and which aren't. I'm using json, sys, requests and getpass). A google will show you how to install libraries.

BE CAREFUL WITH TABS IF EDITING!!!!!!!

I spent ages trying to figure out why certain changes to the script caused it to fail. Apparently Python is very strict on indentation so you might need to change your text editor to insert 4x space characters rather than an actual tab. That worked for me in Notepad++.

You can compile the script into a .exe file so that other users can run it who don't have the python environment installed. This was easy to do with a bit of googling and didn't take long.