cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

NAT for DMZ access from the inside network 8.3 and higher on ASA 5505

Steve Krantzman
Level 1
Level 1

I know this topic has been covered may times, but I am still stuck after reading many forum posts and cisco help files on the subject. Also let me say that I am not a Cisco professional in any way, although I do know my way around the CL to some extent.

I am in the process of upgrading asa 5505s from 8.2.1 to 9.1. I first migrated from 8.2 to 8.3.1 and using many documents found here I have been trying to educate myself on the new NAT structure

I have a typical 3 leg setup (inside, dmz, outside) and everything works at this point. 
I can access the internet from both the inside and dmz.
I can access the servers on the dmz from the outside.
I can access the servers on the dmz from the inside (but maybe not the way I should.)

The following is a small part of my current setup that is working:

interface Vlan1
nameif inside
security-level 100
ip address 192.168.0.1 255.255.255.0

interface Vlan2
nameif outside
security-level 0
ip address 183.2.81.107 255.255.255.248

interface Vlan3
nameif dmz
security-level 50
ip address 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0

object network inside-subnet
subnet 192.168.0.0 255.255.255.0
nat (inside,outside) dynamic interface

object network dmz-subnet
subnet 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0
nat (dmz,outside) dynamic interface

object network webserver
host 192.168.1.4
nat (dmz,any) static 183.2.81.104

Based on what I have read, I think the following changes would need to be made to correctly access the dmz from the inside:

Add
object network inside-dmz
subnet 192.168.0.0 255.255.255.0
nat (inside,dmz) static inside-dmz

Change
object network webserver
host 192.168.1.4
nat (dmz,outside) static 183.2.81.104 (changing (dmz,any) to (dmz,outside).)