Views
Helpful
Replies

no alarms at IEV

ahmedmaged
Level 1
Level 1

Dear list,

I have a Cisco IDS 4235 in a test lab, i am studying the CIDS course with the cisco materials ver. 4.0,

I am trying to use the Cisco Event Viewer, i successfully added the

sensor to the IEV list of devices, but i dont see any Alarms, i am sure the switch does the SPAN it needs, verified that with a sniffer,

and now i am port scanning and exploiting over the network, and i dont see any alarms at the IEV console

Although there should be, i looked at the tables from Tools > DB Administration, and they had the value of Zero, so there are no alarms sent to the IEV pc,

Even if they are genrated and stored on the IDS,

someone suggested that i should enable/activate the signatures from the CLI,

althrough at the course materials, i didnt see such command or slide, so i need your advice about it,

Your valuable help is highly appreciated,

Regards

4 Replies 4

jlwomeld
Level 1
Level 1

Make sure that the Event filter is not set to false must be set to true at the EXCEPTION.

right out of the box, i only configured the sensors IP address and hostname, login, and clock.(nothing else)

i actually didnt understand well what the following commands does, so i skipped them, is any of them mandatory for the box to work fine.

sensor1(config)#int command-control

sensor1(config)#int group 0

sensor1(config)#int sensing 0

sensor1(config)#service virtual-sensor-configuration virtualsensor

sensor1(config)#service alarm-channel-configuration virtualalarm

sensor1(config)#service virtual-sensor-confioguration virtualsensor

sensor1(config-vsc)#tune-micro-engines

sensor1(config)#service alarm-channel-configuration virtualsensor

sensor1(config-acc)#tune-alarm channel

I mean, if i didnt configure anyof them, would the symptoms i am having makes sense ?

Can you give the following command on the sensor and see if the sensing interface is up

show int sensing