cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Open Firewall Ports

wynneitmgr
Level 3
Level 3

I am a firewall newbie so please excuse my ignorance. I need to open some firewall ports to setup a Barracuda web filter. Do I open ports under NAT Rules in ASDM 7.9 or some other place? Thanks for any guidance, I really appreciate it.

Here are the ports I need to open:

Port   Direction    Protocol    Description

22In/OutTCPRemote diagnostics
25OutTCPEmail and email bounces
53OutTCP/UDPDNS (Domain Name Server)
80OutTCPVirus, spyware, category definition updates, and firmware updates
123In/OutUDPNTP (Network Time Protocol)
8000In/OutTCPTo access web interface.

In/OutTCP

Synchronization between linked systems. 

23557In/OutTCP 
8 Replies 8

rmathieson7
Level 1
Level 1

They are access control rules that will need adding to your access control list, I presume the firewall is already configured and has ACLs you can add those rules to ?  See the link below, remember to be specific and only allow the ports required to the source / destinations required.  If you don't usually do it it's probably worth doing it with someone or getting someone to peer review if possible ?

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/security/asa-5500-x-series-next-generation-firewalls/112925-acl-asdm-00.html

@rmathieson7 

Thank you for your help. I will follow your instruction and provided link.

I have created both Access and NAT Rules. (see screenshot). I get confused when on the direct; some ports are Out and the other ports are In/Out. Also, for example, when I try to do Port 22, it comes up as SSH instead of TCP.

fw1.pngfw2.pngfw3.png

Hi,
Your ACL from traffic inside to outside is permitting "any" from inside to outside, so you shouldn't explicitly need to permit any outbound traffic.