cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

PIX vs. IOS CBAC

rremien
Level 1
Level 1

I am curious if I have a correct understanding of the two. I am new to CBAC.

PIX does the following:

1. Uses access-lists to allow outgoing and incoming traffic at layer 3 and layer 4 (port redirection).

CBAC does the following:

1. Augments access-lists with stateful packet filtering at layer 7 by only allowing packets back into the private network that are part of a connection that have been initiated from the inside.

1. Can the PIX do any layer 7 packet filtering?

2. Why buy a PIX when you can add the IOS firewall feature set on a gateway router for less cash? Is it to offload the processing from the router for large organizations? Are there any other benefits?

3. On the PIX, when you create an access list for outbound traffic applied to the inside interface, do you ever have to allow an IP (tcp or udp) connection back in on an inbound access-list applied to the outside interface? I only know of ICMP and GRE that need to be allowed on both outbound and inbound access-lists for LAN users. If you do not have to for tcp and udp connections, is this because of stateful packet filtering? The PIX knows that it has to allow returning traffic that was initiated from the inside?

4. With CBAC, I have seen simple examples (one ethernet and one serial interface) when creating ip inspection sets, that the lists get applied to the ethernet interface inbound instead of the serial interface outbound. Is this because the conversation needs to be created before CBAC can inspect them?

I know this is a long list. Any help with my questions or verifying my statements would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

RJ

1 Reply 1

mike
Level 1
Level 1