cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

PIX501 configure a second tunnel to new peer.

Chris McCann
Level 1
Level 1

I am a bit of a novice on these  devices but can anyone help, I need to create a second tunnel using the  same policy settings, the policy 20 is the current settings. How would I go about doing this, so far I have created most of the policy 21.  This second tunnel is for a different peer.

crypto map outside_map 20 ipsec-isakmp

crypto map outside_map 20 match address outside_cryptomap_20

crypto map outside_map 20 set peer aaa.aaa.aaa.aaa

crypto map outside_map 20 set transform-set ESP-AES-256-SHA

crypto map outside_map 21 ipsec-isakmp

crypto map outside_map 21 match address outside_cryptomap_21

crypto map outside_map 21 set peer bbb.bbb.bbb.bbb

crypto map outside_map 21 set transform-set ESP-AES-256-SHA

crypto map outside_map interface outside

isakmp enable outside

isakmp key ******** address aaa.aaa.aaa.aaa netmask 255.255.255.255 no-xauth no-config-mode

isakmp key ******** address bbb.bbb.bbb.bbb netmask 255.255.255.255 no-xauth no-config-mode

isakmp identity address

isakmp policy 20 authentication pre-share

isakmp policy 20 encryption aes-256

isakmp policy 20 hash sha

isakmp policy 20 group 2

isakmp policy 20 lifetime 28800

and would like to add

isakmp policy 21 authentication pre-share

isakmp policy 21 encryption aes-256

isakmp policy 21 hash sha

isakmp policy 21 group 2

isakmp policy 21 lifetime 28800

I have made an assumption that the policy numbers are referrences to the two different tunnels I wish to use.

many thanks,

C.

7 Replies 7

Jouni Forss
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

In both the "crypto map" and "isakmp policy" configurations the number listed in the command simply refers to a sequence/order/priority number.

So for example when VPN negotiation initiates the ones with the lower numeric value will get matched first until the correct match is found.