cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

RV345 Established Connections Question

BZ93213
Level 1
Level 1

Newbie here.  I have an RV345 router setup and noticed that under the established connections screen I see foreign IP addresses from Amazon connected to the WAN ip address of the router.  One has a status of close_wait and has been listed all day.  I have no ports open on the WAN side of the router, so I'm not sure why all these Amazon connections come and go.  Some times the status is established, which doesn't sit well with me.  I see no login attempts in the log files.  Just not sure exactly what is going on and what I should do about it. 

In the screenshot below, the 192.168.1.1 address is my PC.  Blacked out IP address is my WAN IP.

Any insight would be helpful.  Thanks for your time.

Router-Screenshot.JPG

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

kubn2
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

These are basically connections that you've established from your network towards the Amazon website as the foreign port is 80 and 443. Local IP is WAN IP because you have NAT in place. So when you go from the computer in your network to amazon.com or any other amazon services you will see these connections pop up as you are establishing a connection towards amazon servers. Close_wait is in the situation when you are waiting for the final close message from the application. Established means that someone from your network has active session towards some amazon resources, on the screen I can see mostly www and https so it indicates that someone from your network going to amazon owned websites.

View solution in original post

I just did search on this public ip address the one is concerns you. Yes it in Japan and owned by Amazon. you can also check this on cisco talos

ec2-52-193-136-111.ap-northeast-1.compute.amazonaws.com

My Understanding is,

• CLOSE_WAIT indicates that the remote endpoint (other side of the connection) has closed the connection.