cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Switching ISP Provider

tsabsuavyaj
Level 1
Level 1

When a company switch ISP provider and receive a new block of public IPs, what is the best practice to reconfigure the ASA, its outside interface, DNS, default route and other services like SMTP, sftp with minimum downtime? Is there anything that I can configure in advance if I know the new block of public IPs ?  This is my first time having to switch ISP provider, so don't mind me asking such a dumb question.  Any feedback or suggestion is appreciated.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Jennifer Halim
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

The only thing that you can pre-configure before the cutover is any access-list that is applied to the outside interface. You can start configuring the extra lines of access-list for the new block of IP.

Any other configuration, like outside interface, default route, NAT statement, DNS should really be configured on the cutover itself. You can't really preconfigure it on the ASA as it will conflict with the existing service. You can however get all the commands ready on a notepad, and just copy and paste the new IP (including removing the old IP) during the cutover.

I would also schedule maintenance window to perform all that.

Hope that helps.

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3

Jennifer Halim
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

The only thing that you can pre-configure before the cutover is any access-list that is applied to the outside interface. You can start configuring the extra lines of access-list for the new block of IP.

Any other configuration, like outside interface, default route, NAT statement, DNS should really be configured on the cutover itself. You can't really preconfigure it on the ASA as it will conflict with the existing service. You can however get all the commands ready on a notepad, and just copy and paste the new IP (including removing the old IP) during the cutover.