Views
Helpful
Replies

Using FMC GUI to replace RA VPN Certificate

LVS-Derek
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everyone.

I'm replacing the SSL cert for our RA VPN.  I've used the GUI because I'm not much of a Linux guy and I'm fairly new to Cisco stuff.  I have a pair of 5525s with the FMC virtual appliance.  I used the FMC GUI to generate a CSR but the interface timed out before I got the response back.  If I click the option to Enroll the identity certificate, it wants to start from scratch with a new CSR.  How do I get it to accept the certificate I got from GoDaddy?

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Derek

12 Replies 12

Hi,
When you generate the CSR you should be able to safely close the screen and then return later to import the signed certificate. If you closed the screen and re-entered it later, it might say that it's going to regenerate a CSR but I've tested, it doesn't, it's the same CSR. You should be able to successfully import the signed identity certificate from godaddy.

HTH

Thanks. I'll try that right now and report back!

No luck. What format should this certificate be in? Maybe I need to convert it first?

I've never had a problem importing an identity certicate in PEM format....these are prefixed with a “—–--- BEGIN …” line and end with "------ END CERTIFICATE---".

What format is your cerificate in? If not PEM then yes perhaps convert to PEM.

HTH

I'm trying the PEM again right now. It's possible I may have misselected the first time because it's taking a lot longer this time. I'll let it spin for a bit before I refresh.

No dice. It was still spinning when I got back to it so I hit Refresh. It's back to "Identity certificate import required." So I tried the PEM file once more and this time it quickly returned to the same message.

Is the file just the identity certificate certificate or the entire chain?
I assume the FTD you are applying the certificate to is actually online? If it's turned off then you cannot import the certificate.