cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How to implement a step by step rollout process?

erichgaede
Level 1
Level 1

I'm a NSO rookie, thus excuse, if this a silly question.

For demonstration purposes I try to implement a VPN rollout that executes in 3 steps

1. Configuration to make the VPN ready for testing.
  2. Test VPN
  3. Switch VPN from test mode to productive mode, if test was successful.
    In fact this is a re-deploy with slightly modified service parameters.

Obviously steps 2 and 3 must not be executed if step 1 was done as dry-run and step 3 must not be executed if step 2, the test, failed.

I tried to implement this with data-kickers and 'reactive-re-deploy' as action. In doing so I encountered 2 problems.

• P1: It seems that some external action is needed to make the data-kickers fire. But in the use case described above there are no external players that could do this. I had to change the attribute monitored by data-kicker manually to get the sequence running.
    Question: is there any method a service can trigger itself? (Each step triggers the next one)
    Or am I completely off the track using data-kickers and 'reactive-re-deploy'?
    If yes, what would be the right way to implement this use case?

• P2: How to figure out if step one was executed as dry-run.

In the examples that came along with NSO I didn't find any matching the use-case above. At first glance "getting-started \ developing-with-ncs \ 25-service-progress-monitoring" seemed to be the solution, but it uses a manual action as external trigger.

Both problems could be easily solved using a kind of workflow mechanism on top of NSO. Should this be the solution?
I hope not!

All help very much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

5 Replies 5

vleijon
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi.