cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

College teaching

awjackson
Level 1
Level 1

Good day. I am a computer science teacher at a community college. Prior to coming here, I used Cisco products extensively in various enterprise locations. I would like to teach students Cisco netoworking. Ideally my students would become CCNAs through this process. I am aware that we can use programs like Cisco Packet Tracer to simulate labs environments. However, I think there is little substitute for hands on experience. I am looking for older (maybe retired) Cisco equipment that I can use in a lab environment. I am fine with early gen ASAs, routers, and switches. Heck a 2621 router and a 3524XL switch can still support vlans and various networking protocols. I would like contact information for a Cisco representative that partners with educational institutions. Ideally Cisco would be willing to loan or donate old equipment for learning purposes. This is mutually beneficial because it helps our students, and it builds Cisco engineers that can go out into the world. Please let me know how to contact someone about this. 

4 Replies 4

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

I am sure you can contact locally any refurbished network vendors depends on location you get cheaper priced kit.

You only need 1 Set of device for the students hand on Physical rest you can manage using PT / GNS3 or more advanced CML2 or PNET Lab

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help