cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

best way to connect 2960s with fiber

sizzler
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all first let me say I'm a novice at networking, so here I am. I also may not of asked in right location, so if you think I would be better asking this somewhere else-please say where..Any help would be much appreciated. I'm doing a 80 ip camera system in a building 400' long, and since the runs would be too long-one switch will be in a rear closet with a run of about 420' from closet where 3 other switches and nvr will be. I never did an ip system where I had to use more then one switch, so i'm asking the best way to link the 3 in main closet together and then to the far one. The switches(2960S-24PS-L(got a bunch real cheap so have spares in case)) all have 4 sfp and the nvr depending on which one I go with both have (4) 10/100/1000 rj45's Ethernet ports and one will have 2 sfp ports, and the other states 4 fiber interfaces? The ceiling is plenum so I would need a fiber rated for that. which type of fiber do I need and which transceivers would I need? I would like redundancy if possible and right now will be only using 1000m but if possible can the fiber support 10g and be backwards compatible? There are so many choices in fiber optics the most I ever did with fiber was to plug in a short lc/lc patch cable...lol Thanks for any help. Also this I will ask later, but these pos switches are only being used for ip cameras and nvr, I would need to link it to the switch in same closet that will be internet, so I would have to configure one port on nvr for that(I would think I would connect the nvr and not the switches to internet?) Thanks again for any help/suggestions..

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Just so im sure on this, is all or most fiber cabling plenum rated?

ANS. The plenum rating is based on use, the environment, building codes and regulations. Any reputable cable installer should know if it should be required.