Views
Helpful
Replies

Suggestions, Advice.. general help

costellochris
Level 1
Level 1

Good day everyone,

Im still kind of new to networking out new structures so bare with me. Im trying to find a  the best solution for proformance, reliablity,  best pratice. With the current equipement.

What We have:

Switches:

2 - Cisco 3750 24P TS-S

1 - Cisco 3750 48P TS-S

2 - Cisco 2960 48P TC-L

Firewall:

Juniper SSG5

Servers:

HP ProLiant DL360e Gen8 8-SFF  ( currently looking at as an Upgrade to switch to Virualition on Hyper-v)

HP ProLiant DL360 G5

HP ProLiant DL360 G5

HP ProLiant DL360 G5

HP ProLiant DL360 G5

HP ProLiant DL360 G5

We are Running 3 VLANS -
1 for LAN Access (Desktops, Laptops) Called VLAN 20

1 for 802.1q Trunk Wireless Access (Scanning systems.. basicly a wireless barcode scanner) Called VLAN 21

1 for VOIP ( Would like to upgrade to use POE, but not in the budget this year) Called VLAN 100

Between our 5 Switchs we have Fiber ran, that goes into a 10/100 Fiber Media Converter.

I guess my First Question is, why can't the fiber lines go directly right into Switch's SFP ports?

I have drawn our current network.  Then drawn what I feel would produce a much better back bone and setup all around.  Thoughts? Suggestions anything would be greatly appreiated.

CURRENT

Current.jpg

Trying to be

LAN new.jpg

1 Reply 1

Marvin Rhoads
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

There's no reason why the fiber needs to go via a media converter. As long as you have compatible SFPs, just use the SFP ports on the switches for your interconnections.

Leveraging the Stackwise capability is certainly a good idea. You'll need to plan your stack and re-provision the switches accordingly.