Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco Hyper Flex Replication Factor

AbcKdc31268
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All, 

I am new to Cisco HyperFlex. We currently have a 3 node Cisco Hyper Flex cluster. Each node has 7TB*6 disk per node i.e. 42 TB per node. We currently have Replication Factor of 3 with the useable capacity of 38 TB. We are now planning to add a new node with same configuration and storage. With Replication factor of 3, as per my knowledge data is replicated is 3 times. So, we can have a 2 node failure (not at the same time but one after another). So if we add a new node with same storage configuration I expect my usable capacity also to grow i.e. around 75 TB. Is my assumption correct or am I missing something.

Thank You.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

RedNectar
VIP
VIP

Hi @AbcKdc31268 ,

The best place to answer this question is to go to the EXTREMELY HARD TO FIND https://hyperflexsizer.cloudapps.cisco.com/

(Google just doesn't seen to know about it)

I did a quick "customised" config for you configuration with the default assumptions about compression and deduplication and got...

RedNectar_0-1661854039530.png

So that's the sizing question answered. I encourage you to do your own sizing at https://hyperflexsizer.cloudapps.cisco.com/

But you also said

we can have a 2 node failure (not at the same time but one after another).

Well - that's true... BUT ...

1. It really doesn't matter if it is at the same time or one after the other. If you loose 2/4 nodes you are left with all your data but only two copies - possibly one one copy of some of it until the system re-balances, so I guess the "one after the other" makes sense
  2. The chances of loosing two nodes is pretty slim, but if you think it is a possibility, then you should be planning on 5 nodes, not 4, that way you can maintain RF3 even with 2 nodes down (which is why Cisco recommend 5 nodes with RF3 - although the salespeople trying to make a sale probably won't mention this)