Views
Helpful
Replies

Question about when multicasting is not required on BGP EVPN VxLAN

goyourmin
Level 1
Level 1

hello !

i considering the introduction of various VxLANs.
I'm studying through various documents and YouTube, While watching YouTube, I saw that it is possible to configure it through BGP, EVPN Vxlan, without the need for multicast.

Q1. VxLAN is one of the many technologies that is possible without multicasting?
Q2. Multicast can also use a lot of load equipment, but is it enough to use VxLAN? And is that an advantage?

I'd like to share the YouTube link, but it seems to be copyrighted.

The search title is "VxLAN BGP EVPN | Part 1/5 | Cisco Nexus 9000 Configuration example Control plane learning".

best regard,

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

M02@rt37
VIP
VIP

Hello @goyourmin,

Q1) Traditionally, multicast has been used for broadcast and unknown unicast traffic replication in Layer 2 networks. However, VxLAN can leverage different mechanisms, such as BGP EVPN, to handle the control plane and eliminate the dependency on multicast for traffic replication.

Q2) Multicast can indeed introduce additional load on network equipment, especially in large-scale deployments with a high volume of multicast traffic. By using VxLAN with BGP EVPN, you can reduce or eliminate the need for multicast replication within the overlay network. Instead, BGP EVPN allows for efficient and scalable control plane learning, where the information about MAC addresses and reachability is exchanged between the VxLAN endpoints using BGP. This approach can provide advantages such as reduced network complexity, improved scalability, and easier integration with existing network architectures.

I sugget you Toni Pasanen's books about vxlan -- holy bible as I concerned!

Best regards
.ı|ı.ı|ı. If This Helps, Please Rate .ı|ı.ı|ı.

View solution in original post