cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ADSL, Cable Broadband and NAT with 1760 - Configuration Help Please

JasonPia
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to Cisco routers and trying to setup a 1760 to load balance between two ISPs, one through a WIC-1ADSL and the other through a WIC-1ENET.

Both have a single IP address which I need to NAT overload through.

I have spent probably the best part of 2-3 days wading my way through the forums and the reams of Cisco documentation and configuration examples but I can't find an example of this setup. I can get the Broadband OR the ADSL to work but I seem to be coming unstuck on how to NAT BOTH the interfaces. The closest forum thread I found was http://forum.cisco.com/eforum/servlet/NetProf;jsessionid=b5e3x1agv1.SJ2A?page=netprof&CommCmd=MB%3Fcmd%3Ddisplay_location%26location%3D.ee943ac but unforunately nobody answered his question.

Can anybody point me in the right direction? Or post there own working configuration? That would give me enough to get me sorted. I don't need anything fancy, I'm not concerned about about making internal resources available over both interfaces apart from a mail server which I can sort out by having two MX records.

Thanks, Jason

3 Replies 3

kieran-kelly
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Jason

Scott as you know is away at the moment but i'm sure i can set you in the right direction. This can definitely be done, however we ourselves have stumble across some issues with the load-balancing on a per destination basis over ATM interfaces. But that would be far too much to go into.

What you basically need to do is setup 2 dialer interfaces and map them to your respective ADSL and ethernet interfaces. You then create 2 ip nat pools for each ISP that you have connections with to the internet.

In terms of load balancing this will be done with configuring you routes, create 2 wild card routes with next hops of the dialer interfaces.eg ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 ?