Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 837 Help, will not boot!!!!!!!!!!

keith.bucknall
Level 1
Level 1

Dear All,

I am sure you get this a lot but i am new to the world of Cisco and our company has just purchased 10 of these Routers for our remote sites / teleworkers. I started to configure them through SDM but released that there is no where to input for PPoA username and password...

As i am based in the UK and used to personally own a 827 i was used to using the CRWS, after reading:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/sw/secursw/ps5318/prod_installation_guide09186a008017dcc8.html

I followed the instructions, setup the ASDL connection and everything has been working fine until i switched the router off to move locations and when i switched it back in the router went into REMMON mode and all i get is error:

boot: cannot determine first file name on device "flash:"

Is there anything i can do, i can not reload the router and every time i tried to reset the router just came back to this section. My company did not know what SmartNet was so never purchased any warrenty so i can not even download the lastest IOS and install that - can anyone help...

It was purchased from PC World Business so of course trying to contact there support is like calling AOL's helpline!!!!

Kind Regards

Keith

11 Replies 11

npasolutions
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Keith,

I'm new to this myself, but it sounds like you've made the mistake I did and wiped the flash memory (it's set to yes by default so unless you explicitly answered no... - stupid I think). I could be wrong.

Anyway, I think you'll be needing SMARTnet to get your hands on the IOS image. Though if you have more than one, am not sure if you can physically copy from one to another....

I found this useful:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps380/products_configuration_guide_chapter09186a008007c98d.html#91937

Good luck.

Craig Kempson

NPA Solutions

Craig