Views
Helpful
Replies

Need help in increasing CPU utilization for Cisco Switch

mahazz12
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I have a cisco switch (Cisco Catalyst C9300) and want to increase CPU utilization of the switch. I am passing lots of different types and heavy traffic on the switch through TRex, but the CPU utilization is stuck on 1%. No matter how much I try, the CPU utilization is not increasing.

I also tried disabling STP which increased CPU utilization to about 40%, but every time it resulted in losing my SNMP connection to which my monitoring tool and switch were connected, hence I am unable to further monitor the switch (for throughput etc).

I am new to networking and want to conduct experiments, so I want that the CPU utilization 0%, 50% and 100% (or you can say variations in CPU utilizations up to MAX) in order to carry out the tests. Can someone please help me out with how do I increase the CPU utilization? 

TIA.

30 Replies 30

@mahazz12 wrote:
Exactly, the same scenario is happening with me as well. Is there any solution that can increase the CPU utilisation and not choke the CPU and also maintain the SNMP connection so I can monitor the switch through Zabbix?

No way. 

This IOS-XE we are talking about.  And with IOS-XE, once the CPU or memory utilization sends the stack into "runaway", all bets are off!

Also, I am varying the utilisation level through Trex as well. I start passing the traffic at 100% and then decrease it steadily by 80% 60% 40% 20% and finally 0% but the CPU utilisation is stable at 1% and there's no impact on it. Is it normal? Will the CPU utilisation not vary with the traffic load?

Normal?

More-or-less, yes it is.

Can CPU load vary with traffic?

Yes, it MAY, but it doesn't have to.  Further, if it does vary, it might not track with traffic level, including even the inverse of what I suspect you would expect.

So is there any other way (except fluctuating traffic level) to increase the CPU utilisation?