cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

pinging over frame-relay to OSPF area0

cymurai
Level 1
Level 1

I am a Cisco Networking Academy student working on my CCNP. I am finishing a case study on Remote Access.

I seem to have a puzzling problem that even my instructor is stumped.

Scenario: I have 3 core routers running OSPF (area0), all other remote routers have static default routes to their respective core router. All core routers have redistribute static subnets. One core router is connected to its remote router by frame-relay (using Adtran as cloud); I am not using sub-interfaces. ALL of the other routers can ping the remoteFR router, but the remoteFR router can only ping past the coreFR router using an extended ping using the loopback address as the source address. It is unable to use standard ping or an extended ping using the outgoing serial port address. (It is however able to ping the coreFRs fa and serial interface) ??????

(Traceroute gives the same results as ping)

After researching for several days, I asked my instructor for help. He got out the instructors configs, but we did not see any major differences. Then he got out the configs he got from his instructor at Cisco, those configs showed that the coreFR router had the frame-relay subnet included in the OSPF (area0). This does seem to fix the problem.

I can see this making the coreFR router an internal router instead of an ABR, which the other two core routers are, but it baffles me as to WHY this makes a difference between being able to ping from the remoteFRs loopback address and pinging from the outbound serial interface address. I have not been able to find any information relating to this problem.

Thank you for any input you may have.

4 Replies 4

Erick Bergquist
Level 6
Level 6