Views
Helpful
Replies

Sharefile now not prompting for Password on second login

bjames
Level 5
Level 5

Hi,

Wondering if anyone else has had this issue; We've used Sharefile with Duo for quite a while and it works great. Lately when I go to Sharefile, login is normal with domain creds, then MFA, all good. When I go back to Sharefile later in the day it never prompts me to enter my password again, just sends a push.

We have not changed our policy for Sharefile, we are not remembering device, or using Passwordless. I noticed the interface had changed for Sharefile so I opened up a ticket with them, but their support is less than stellar.

Posting here to see if anyone else has this, or it prompts everytime for them?

The only thing that changed was the look and feel on the Sharepoint side, and we do need it to prompt everytime.

Thanks

6 Replies 6

I have no experience with Sharefile beyond using it to upload and download materials. However, from the description you gave it suggests that the issue is not on Duo side because you are not getting the credentials prompt in the first place, so it seems that Sharefile in the background is doing something different after the latest update. I would try to escalate it with Sharefile support team or through your account manager.

DuoKristina
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Do you have ShareFile federated with some IdP (Duo SSO, AD FS, Entra, etc.)?

>When I go back to Sharefile later in the day it never prompts me to enter my password again, just sends a push.

If you do use federated login this sounds like the IdP still has a valid SSO session for primary auth. It's typical for IdP sessions to last several hours (multiple IdPs I'm familiar with default to 8 hours), and the length is usually adjustable.

It would be odd for the IdP session length to spontaneously change.

If you aren't using federated login with ShareFile, then definitely it sounds like a change on ShareFile's side.

Duo, not DUO.