cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

More efficient typology for a home lab to allow for SSH

FazeDank
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all. This is my first time setting up a home lab and I feel like the current typology I have is extremely inefficient. I have posted my current typology below and will offer a brief explanation of what I have done. Essentially what I have done is I used one interface on each device that would all be on the same subnet. They would then all be connected to a singular switch that would lead to my PC which I would manage the network from. I want to be able to SSH into all the devices without having to constantly plug in and plug out the console cable from each and every one of the devices. Just wondering if there is a better way to do this as I feel like my current typology is wasting a lot of ports and is not realistic to a real world environment. 

home lab.PNG

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello again,

You are forgetting the concept of the native VLAN on a trunk link. Essentially a VLAN ID can be defined on a trunk such that frames belong to that VLAN will be transmitted without a VLAN tag and likewise any untagged frames received on that trunk will then use the native VLANs forwarding table for further switching within the switch.

On a sub-interface you can explicitly define a native sub-interface:

!
int gi0/1
  no shut
!
int gi0/1.10
  encapsulation dot1q 10 native
!

Losing access to the management IP of a remote device through misconfiguration of trunk links is the sort of stuff that plays on every engineers mind when actioning changes, so its consideration into your designs would be well placed. That said, if this is just a demo topology where you are testing more vexing routing problems, and the entire configs except the management interface are routinely being trashed, then it is perfectly acceptable to keep your out of band network, even if it isn't very realistic beyond a single building deployment.

cheers,

Seb.