cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

RV180W and two completely separate networks.

jpittsCSA
Level 1
Level 1

First off, let me state that I'm not an IT person.  I'm an architect working in a small office that happens to be home to two seperate businesses, each with their owner network.  However, these two networks want to use the same large format printer.  I recently purchased the RV180W since the Cisco representative told me i would be able to connect both networks to the router so they can both see the printer without seeing the files on each of the other networks.  We simply want to share the same printer.

Network 1:

Network 2

Large Format Printer

Network 1 has the RV180W as it's router with three gigabit switches.  Computers and peripherals are connected to the three switches.  1 port open on the last switch.

I want to configure the RV180W to see both 192.168.4.1 and 192.168.2.1

What settings need to be modifed in order to accomplish this?  Do I need more equipment?  Is it easier to put a wireless card in one of the computers on the 192.168.2.1 network and then set it to see the 192.168.4.1 network?

I read somewhere about VLAN's... whatever they are.

Again, talk to me like I'm a novice.  I'm not fluent in this field.

All the best,

Jay

3 Replies 3

davidagu
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Jay,

Thanks for writing.

One quick question about the setup. Does each business have a separate internet connection, or do you share the same internet connection?

This will determine whether you need an additional VLAN or a VPN.

All the best,

-David Aguilar

Cisco SBSC

1-866-606-1866

Dave,

I appologize for the delay.  I sent a reply to the email notification only to realize that it might not actually go to you.

The two networks have separate internet connections.

I appreciate any help you can offier.

Thanks for the reply.

Jay