cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Want to Prevent RV340 becoming a Bottleneck

jasonreg416
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, Minor cross over from a switch question - please stay with me.  Caveat - I am not an IT expert, just a guy who can google, but enjoys tinkering.

I am replacing several components to my SOHO network and I have a question related to the best way to connect my router and switch. I have Gb download speed from my ISP (Average 860-900 MB + download when connected directly to the modem) and I am trying to prevent a bottleneck or speed degradation to the max extent possible. I have bridged the modem from the ISP and will be using the RV340 as the gateway (replacing an RV320 which I find significantly slows my internet connection speeds currently). I also use 3 x WAP 371 as APs. I plan to set up several VLANs (Office, Home PCs, SONOS Equipment, Others) but I will need to enable cross VLAN traffic.  I average approx 40-45 connected devices (Both wired 25'ish and wifi 15-18 + (+ occasional Guests)).  All the SONOS gear has wifi disabled and are hard-wired.  My Questions:

1. Am I best to connect the router to the switch and then everything else hanging off of the Switch (Currently planning an SG250X-48) or should I be making use of the Router Ports?
  2. WAPs - off the switch or off the extra Router ports?
  3. Is there any benefit to try and enable static Link Aggregation on the RV340?  Is this even possible?  From what I have read this seems to add increased capacity between the router and the switch.
  4. WAPs - all on the same VLAN I assume (single SSID).
  5. Suggestions of where I am making my life overly complicated or how to get the fastest internet speeds using these components.  Should I be looking at something else?  

Thanks in advance - Jason

30 Replies 30

Hi, sorry to hear.
VLAN is for segmenting traffic and separate traffic.
Adding VLANs for 50 devices is a bit overkill unless you want to separate traffic (Guest VLAN, Smart Devices ) for security.