Views
Helpful
Replies

5505 PPPOE access via VDSL bridge modem

Paul_Cisco_75
Level 1
Level 1

Hi

I'm new to cisco, I just bought a 5505 to learn from and am trying to attach my VDSL modem as a transparent bridge.

It goes....

Laptop   >>> (VLAN1) Cisco 5505 (VLAN2)  >>> VDSL modem >>> internet

X.X.X.10 >>> (X.X.X.254) ------ (Y.Y.Y.254)    >>> Y.Y.Y.10        >>> A.B.C.D.

I'm using the ASDM, if I configure VLAN2 with the IP address of the VDSL interface I can ping the modem from the console session via Putty. If I take that off and configure up the PPPOE client I can't ping the VDSL modem, I'd expect that. If I then add in an IP address to the PPPOE client config like I assigned to VLAN2 it doesn't ping either.

If I can't ping the VDSL modem I don't expect it would work but it seems I can only either give it a static address which pings but has no pppoe or give it a PPPOE config which means I can't ping the VDSL.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to why I can't ping the VDSL modem when the interface is set as PPPOE with an IP address?

Presumably if I'm on the ASA console doing pings from there to the modem then I'm ruling out problems with the routing from the laptop (trying to isolate where the issue is)

Thanks

Paul

3 Replies 3

Paul_Cisco_75
Level 1
Level 1

Bump... Not sure if it helps any but a bit of debugging shows that the PADI Discovery Initialisation packets are being sent out but it appears no PADO Offers are being returned, any idea what I can do to progress this?

Does the 5505 successfully negotiate an IP when using PPPoE?

Here's some ASA config that has worked in the past, although it was connected to a 877VA router (configured as a bridge), not DSL modem: -

interface Ethernet0/0

switchport access vlan 2

!

!

interface Vlan2

nameif outside

security-level 0   

pppoe client vpdn group VPDN1

ip address pppoe setroute

!

!

vpdn group VPDN1 request dialout pppoe

vpdn group VPDN1 localname xxxx@yyyy