cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Bandwidth throttling via QoS

Ricky S
Level 3
Level 3

Hi folks, I am fairly new to the world of QoS. Although I have a basic understanding of what it is, I don't have any real experience in implementing it in production network. We have a new requirement between two of our major offices located in Chicago and Toronto where they will be replicating large amount of data between each other on a nightly basis. We checked with the vendor of the replication software/server and there is no way to throttle the bandwidth usage in software. They said this is usually done via QoS.

I'm wondering if anyone can shine some light as to how I can configure my routers in both offices to throttle the bandwidth usage for traffic between these two specific servers. Would I need to use ACLs to do the QoS?

23 Replies 23

Bilal Nawaz
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

One of the quickest solutions is this, and works pretty well imho. Use ACL's to class the traffic (this can be extended ACL's I believe too) e.g. if i wanted to limit to 3mb up and down, you can do this e.g. for servers 10.0.0.1, 172.16.0.1 from and towards each other:

### To match the traffic

ip access-list extended ACL_3Mbps

permit ip host 10.0.0.1 host 172.16.0.1

permit ip host 172.16.0.1 host 10.0.0.1

!

### Class the traffic

class-map Link_3Mbps

match access-group ACL_3Mbps

!

### Apply policy against the class (type of traffic specified by your class-map)

policy-map Policy_3Mbps

class Link_3Mbps

police 3000000 8000 exceed-action drop (8000 is the burst rate)

!

interface gigabitethernet1/0

### Applies the policies inbound and outbound, both directions

service-policy input Policy_3Mbps

service-policy output Policy_3Mbps

Where the ACL is you can specify source and destination or just source or source and port depending on how you configure your ACL.

Hope this helps.

Link for your reference: