Views
Helpful
Replies

Can't SSH into Switch from outside local network

drakeanke1
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys,

Currently have the following network set up (see attachment pls). Apparently I'm supposed to be able to connect to each switch using all 3 PC's.

At the moment, I can only SSH to a switch via their corresponding PC i.e. S1-3 via PC1-3.

I can however ping all PC's from a PC i.e. PC1-1 can ping PC1-2, and PC1-3 without issue. 

I'm still new to Cisco, and am confused as to how I can get from one PC to another, but not be able to connect or ping the switch that's in between them? Am I supposed to set up a static route on the server for it to get across to the switch?

Currently on each switch I have the following setup (just changed the hostname and IP for each switch)

!
version 12.2
no service timestamps log datetime msec
no service timestamps debug datetime msec
service password-encryption
!
hostname S1-1
!
enable secret 5 $1$mERr$9sGk8uZNjsRoeNXXRX8ZC.
!
ip ssh version 2
ip ssh authentication-retries 2
ip ssh time-out 110
ip domain-name pattersontribe.com
!
username cisco secret 5 $1$mERr$qk3CK1TOD8.wVdLl7Y7DC1
!
interface FastEthernet0/1
 duplex full
 speed 100
!
interface FastEthernet0/2
 switchport mode access
 switchport port-security
!
interface FastEthernet0/3 - FastEthernet0/24
 switchport access vlan 999
 switchport mode access
 shutdown
!
interface GigabitEthernet0/1
!
interface GigabitEthernet0/2
!
interface Vlan1
 ip address 192.168.1.2 255.255.255.0
!
line con 0
 password 7 0822455D0A16511A17
 logging synchronous
 login
 history size 20
 exec-timeout 0 0
!
line vty 0 4
 exec-timeout 0 0
 password 7 0822455D0A16511A17
 logging synchronous
 login local
 history size 20
 transport input ssh
line vty 5 15
 login local
 transport input ssh
!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Mark Malone
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni