cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 1841 Routers - FA 0/0 and 0/1 Protocol DOWN when connecting back2back with another 1841

sschumaher
Level 1
Level 1

Hello guys, let me share with you one of the issues I have ran into during my course and I can't resolve on my own.

I am studying for my CNNA with a Cisco Lab kit I bought on Ebay and I ran into a issue which I can't figure out on how to resolve. I just hope it's not a fault that can't be repaired, based on the tests I did and I will list below it doesn't seem to be the case.

Issue happens on the 3x 1841 Routers I have - I have configured them multiple times on FA 0/0 and 0/1 and tried to connect them back to back to each other using a crossover cable but when I plug the cable there is no sign of connectivity (leds do NOT light up and there isn't any log on the command line either) - I have started the FA configs using auto for speed and duplex settings and then went to 100 and even 10 to lock down the port using these settings but still nothing happens. I have tried a SHUTDOWN followed by NO SHUT but still - the Status is UP but the Protocol remains DOWN.

What is intriguing me is that I cannot replicate the same issue when I connect the same routers to any of my switches using a cross over cable - that works fine - the routers FAST ETHERNET also works when I connect them to my laptop using a straight thru cable.

Another test I have done is connecting any of these routers using a straight tru cable on their Fast Ethernet to my Broadband wireless router/hub - when I do I get all the leds indicating connectivity on the FA ports and I can route the internet traffic to the routers.

These routers also have serial ports and they work also fine - issue ONLY happens using FA 0/0 or 0/1 between routers.

I have re-installed the IOS multiple times and played around with some of the settings I am familiar with but I think I might be missing something else?