cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

cisco 2951Router

JB8080
Level 1
Level 1

I have a 3750 G does a 2951 router work with that and do I need a operating system or does it come with an operating system? I am very new at this.

5 Replies 5

M02@rt37
VIP
VIP

Hello @JB8080,

The Cisco Catalyst 3750G is a switch, while the Cisco 2951 is a router. These are two different types of network devices with distinct functions.

The Cisco Catalyst 3750G is a Layer 2 or Layer 3 switch that provides advanced networking capabilities for local area networks (LANs). It offers features like VLANs, routing, security, and high-performance switching.

On the other hand, the Cisco 2951 is a router that is designed for wide area network (WAN) connectivity. It provides routing, security, and various WAN connectivity options such as T1/E1, DSL, and Ethernet interfaces. Routers are typically used to connect networks together and handle traffic between different networks.

Regarding the operating system, Cisco devices run on Cisco IOS software. The specific IOS version required and supported by each device can vary. The Catalyst 3750G switch and Cisco 2951 router both come with an operating system pre-installed.

It's important to note that the Catalyst 3750G switch and Cisco 2951 router are separate devices with different purposes. The switch is primarily used for LAN networking, while the router is used for WAN connectivity and interconnecting networks.

Best regards
.ı|ı.ı|ı. If This Helps, Please Rate .ı|ı.ı|ı.

JB8080
Level 1
Level 1

Thank You. This helps. Simply did not want have to buy a license. 

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Yes, they can work together.

Since the 3750G is a L3 switch, it and the 2951 overlap in some of their capabilities, but even where they do overlap, each often does some things "better" than the other.  I.e. the combination is often very beneficial.