cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Configuring a Cisco 2690 Switch for Practice

dr3amHigher
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone, I am still a student and fairly new at this stuff. I am configuring a Cisco 2690 switch to practice against. It is plugged up via the console cable to my computer and I am using SCREEN to configure it. I have reset it to factory settings then did the initial configuration

Steps to factory reset:

Hold down mode while powering on machine, opened terminal and did screen [file location] 

switch: flash_init 
switch: del flash:config.text 
switch: del flash: vlan.dat (no file for this)
switch: boot 
Would you like to enter the initial configuration dialog? [yes/no]:
% Please answer 'yes' or 'no'.

host name: myswitch
// set passwords
Configure SNMP Network Management? [no]: no
Enter interface name used to connect to the
management network from the above interface summary: vlan1
Configure IP on this interface?[yes]: no

I did not set the IP because I need to set up this as a DHCP server to serve me an IP so that I can SSH into it. 

myswitch>enable
myswitch#configure terminal
myswitch(config)#ip dhcp excluded-address 192.168.1.1 192.168.1.10
myswitch(config)#ip dhcp pool test
myswitch(dhcp-config)#network 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0
myswitch(dhcp-config)#default-router 192.168.1.1
myswitch(dhcp-config)#dns-server 4.4.4.4
myswitch(dhcp-config)#exit
myswitch(config)#interface vlan 1
myswitch(config-if)#ip address 192.168.1.5  255.255.255.0
myswitch(config-if)#no shutdown
myswitch(config-if)#exit
myswitch(config)#exit
myswitch#

and I enabled SSH 

myswitch# config t
//left out ip domain-name