Views
Helpful
Replies

Configuring multiple interfaces to a name IP ranges on Switch

Jin21261
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all,

I am a newbie who just entered in Cisco world.

I am currently playing with a cisco switch and faced a issue which I would like to solve.

I currently connected my ISP router (in bridge mode) to interface port 2

I am trying to setup my router for DHCP on interface port 1 and connect access point mesh network device on interface port 2

I have set both of them as a access mode but port 2 is not getting same subnet IP range as port 1

currently port 1 is getting 192.168.0.x and port 2 is getting 192.168.1.x

and cannot ping each other.

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hello,

you need to find out where the 192.168.1.x addresses are coming from. Make sure they are not accidentally coming from the Verizon...

View solution in original post

Hello

based on that topology and as you say the isp modem in bridging i would direct attached the dlink wan port to the isp modem and its lan port attach to the switch as a trunk or access port depending if it’s just a single ip address on its physical port or its with multiple ip addressing on sub- interfaces 

Then create dhcp scope(s) for your lan subnet(s) on the dlink and use nat for any multiple lan subnets the ios modem isn’t aware of so they can access the internet.

lastly on the switch create the vlan(s) that will relate to the L3 addresses you’ve create on the dlink and assign those vlan(s) to a switch access port that you want your end hosts to reside in  

Please rate and mark as an accepted solution if you have found any of the information provided useful.
This then could assist others on these forums to find a valuable answer and broadens the community’s global network.

Kind Regards
Paul

View solution in original post

13 Replies 13

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame