Helpful
Replies

EBGP routing manupilation

SJ K
Level 5
Level 5

Hi all

I am new to EBGP and is task to do some immediate setup

Not asking for direct answers but rather hope gurus here be able to confirm my understanding and provide some suggestions to avoid any rookie mistake i might make

cisco.jpg

R10 are connected to R1-3 through 2 x /30 point to point links

1) R10 will learn R1-3 prefixes and R1-3 will learn R10 prefixes
2) R1-3 will not learn prefixes of each other through R10
3) R10 to make sure traffic always go through the 1st link and also make sure that R1-3 always send traffic through the 1st link as well / only when 1st link is down, then traffic should use the 2nd link

4) R10 will not learn any prefix that is not pre-negotiated with the neighbor technical team (e.g. R1 suppose to only advertise 1.1.1.1/24 - R10 will only accept this )

For 3) I am thinking of using

local preference to make sure traffic always use the 1st link

med to influence the peer to send traffic through the 1st link

- is this the right way to do it ? anyway to make sure the peer always send traffic through the 1st link as well ?

For 2) read about the no-export community - but that seems to require the peer to send it to me instead ? - is this correct ?

For 4) i have no idea ...  how do i make sure that R10 only accept those prefixes that it is supposed to received ?

Any help / advice will be useful

2 Replies 2

Based on your OP the following could be an applicable approach, However I’m sure others will have differing views or better viable suggestions given the complexity of bgp and the many options available within this EGP

1- Advertise via bgp network command
2- Apply as-path filtering to ensure ASN 10 doesn’t become a transit path between your ISPs 
3- Set weight preference on ingress routes between ISP neighbours highest value most preferred.