cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

EIGRP Route Redistribution and Common / Best Practices for ACL / Prefix List Filtering

tom.neteng
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I'm Tom and I'm a network engineer.  I have a few questions about configuration, more specifically for static route redistribution filtering.

I ran across a configuration similar to the following and would like some help in examining it.  I'm confused as to why multiple methods are used, via both ACL and prefix-list.  Why would you use both an ACL and a prefix list?  Won't one or the other do the job here?  Can't you specify a subnet range in the ACL?  When is it more appropriate to use an ACL, ACL / prefix list, or route map in route redistribution filtering?  What is best practice here?

router eigrp

redist...

distribute-list this-filter out

distribute-list 75 out

ip access-list standard this-filter

ip prefix-list this-filter seq 5 deny 0.0.0.0/0

ip prefix-list this-filter seq 10 permit 10.0.0.0/24

access-list 75 deny 172.16.1.1

2 Replies 2

Hello

Personally I think Prefix-lists are more granular to match on network ranges and subnet masks than the normal acl as such they are for me  preferred over acls for eigrp 

res

paul

Please rate and mark as an accepted solution if you have found any of the information provided useful.
This then could assist others on these forums to find a valuable answer and broadens the community’s global network.

Kind Regards
Paul

Hi Guys -

I think this is an interesting topic.  This is one of those situations where Cisco gives you a lot of different ways of doing the same thing.

I put up this dummy config in the lab to open up the discussion.  These are the interfaces I built:

R1#sh ip int brie | ex unas
Interface        IP-Address    Status  Protocol
FastEthernet0/0  1.1.1.1       up      up
Loopback10       10.0.10.10    up      up
Loopback20       10.0.20.20    up      up