cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Explanation of some basic IOS commands please?

Mottok
Level 1
Level 1

Hi - hope this is the right place to post this. Basically looking to understand 4 snippets of code from our Cisco 7706 Nexus. I am very new to networking but as our resident Cisco expert has left I have to figure this out, so apologies for the newbie-ness of the questions.

I need to know (in as plain English as possible!) what each of the following means and how they work, also trying to understand which direction to think about things e.g. is the interface used to inform traffic coming in, going out or both?

Many thanks, very much appreciated.

interface Vlan2
  no shutdown
  ip address 10.1.2.150/22

interface Vlan50
  no shutdown
  ip address 192.168.250.2/24
  ip router ospf 10 area 0.0.0.0

interface port-channel90
  switchport mode trunk
  switchport trunk native vlan 99

interface Ethernet1/3
  switchport mode trunk
  switchport trunk native vlan 99
  switchport trunk allowed vlan 2,13,35,50
  channel-group 35 mode active
  no shutdown

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

"No1: I understand vlan2 is a virtual interface on the Nexus but what is the IP address actually telling me?"

It's the IP address of the SVI. It's a entry/exit point for that VLAN using the IP and network provided. I.e. if you want to get to/from hosts in the range of 10.1.0.1 - 10.1.2.149, 10.1.2.151 - 10.1.3.254, the SVI if often a way to accomplish that on a L3 switch for a VLAN.

"No2: What does "ip router ospf 10 area 0.0.0.0" actually mean and why would code No1 not use it?"

It means place 192.168.250.0/24 in OSPF process 10's area zero and activate OSPF on that interface.