Views
Helpful
Replies

Hardware for network load balancing between two WANs

eric0000111
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm new to Cisco hardware ecosystem and feel a bit amongst so many devices. I'm a network administrator, and I do most of my work with Linux-based routers (ipfilter et al.)

The design I'm busy with ATM is a small office with 10+ desktop computers, Wi-Fi available for visitors, 2 100Mbps-WAN to the internet, 1 mysql/apache/samba server. Attached is a diagram of the proposed design.

I need to balance network load to the internet between the 2 100Mbps-WAN connections. The intranet should be all GigaEthernet.

From what I've read so far, the adequate router/switch would be a 1921 or a 1941 or is it overkilled ?

What expansion cards should I add to the 1921/1941 to achieve the proposed design?

Is there a way I can mount 8 GigaEthernet LAN ports AND 2 FastEthernet WAN ports on the same device?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Eric.

5 Replies 5

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Disclaimer

The Author of this posting offers the information contained within this posting without consideration and with the reader's understanding that there's no implied or expressed suitability or fitness for any purpose. Information provided is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as rendering professional advice of any kind. Usage of this posting's information is solely at reader's own risk.

Liability Disclaimer

In no event shall Author be liable for any damages whatsoever (including, without limitation, damages for loss of use, data or profit) arising out of the use or inability to use the posting's information even if Author has been advised of the possibility of such damage.

Posting

Dual 100 Mbps duplex?  If so, a 19xx will be inadequate.  Cisco recommends those for 15 and 25 Mbps, respectively.  For 200 Mbps, you're in the ballpark of a 3945 or 3925E (150 and 250 Mbps).