cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How a packets returns when using NAT

alayme112
Level 1
Level 1

Hello, I'm studying for my CCNA certification and I have a doubt about NAT. I haven't found yet an explanation on internet.

The scenario is simple, I have a PC using a private address 192.168.10.1 and the router performs dynamic NAT. If the Wan interface of the router has the IP 161.10.10.1 and the PC's address is translated to another IP address from the pool, for example 161.10.10.2. The packet should have as source address 161.10.10.2 and any destination address.

When the remote host sends a reply, the packet has as source addres the IP of the remote host and as destination address the IP 161.10.10.2. My question is, if the destination address is 161.10.10.2 because of NAT, how does this packet knows that it have to reach the Wan interface of my router with IP address 161.10.10.1

I'd really appreciate your help, thanks.

4 Replies 4

rais
Level 7
Level 7

This works because the ISP assigned you multiple addresses and it knows all assigned IPs are to be routed to a particular next-hop [.1, in your example.].

Internet edge router/device would proxy-arp for .2 once configured to do so.

HTH.

cheeseburger
Level 1
Level 1

Hello alayme112,

I think you are more asking about a default route or a default gateway. In your simple topology, the WAN interface is your public IP and that router is also the default gateway for your LAN. Let's take a look at what the IP headers will look like if you were to ping Google DNS from your PC using the private address of 192.168.10.1:

1st packet from PC:

ip src: 192.168.10.1  |  ip dst: 8.8.8.8

Packet hits router (default gateway) and NAT takes place:

ip src: 161.10.10.1    |  ip dst: 8.8.8.8

Packet returns from Google into your router:

ip src: 8.8.8.8            |  ip dst: 161.10.10.1

router performs NAT and sends on to your PC:

ip src: 8.8.8.8            |  ip dst: 192.168.10.1