cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How to assign a MAC address to a WAN interface?

Hello first off I'm a newbie in this so please be patient with my question.

I've been working at the university with a Cisco Router of the 2500 series, it's the 2509. And when I see the details of the WAN interface it doesn't display a MAC address, just like the ethernet 0 or other interfaces. Why is that? I've been told that there is a way to assign a MAC address but I couldn't find anything about it, I've been searching at IEEE 802.3, and several more sites, but couldn't find anything about assigning MAC adresses to WAN interfaces or how to do it. Or if it even exists.

Thanks for your time and patience.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Thank you for the additional information. This confirms that your WAN interface is a serial interface. Serial interfaces are very different from Ethernet interfaces and can use encapsulations such as PPP (used in this example) or HDLC. These serial encapsulations have their own method of local addressing which are different from Ethernet and these serial encapsulations do not use MAC addresses. So there is not any way to assign a MAC address on this serial interface.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

View solution in original post

10 Replies 10

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Post the complete output to the command "sh interface <WAN interface> | i address is".

The MAC address of the interface is after the "address is" and before the "bia" or burnt-in-address.

I can't right now, since I'm at home, and router is at school, but I'm going to do it.
Thanks for your answer btw.

Hi

In order to see the MAC address of a interface you can execute this commando

show interface <interface id> ; example: show interface g0/0 

Your will see somthing like 

GigaEthernet0/0 is up, line protocol is up
Hardware is ABC, address is aabb.ccdd.1234 (bia aabb.ccdd.1234)