cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How to block an OSPF learnt route

Jan Gilhooley
Level 1
Level 1

I've never had to consider this before - but we are migrating remote sites from one network provider to another whilst retaining the same IP address schemes on the sites.  We now have the situation where the new providers work around for handling the 2 routes being advertised to our core doesn't work (turns out a bug in a certain class of non-Cisco router), so whilst I wait for the old provider to remove the routes I quickly need a "Plan B". 

So what I need is to prevent our main router OSPF learning the old provider's route for specific IP ranges. From some googling I think this would work as planned. But as I have never done this before I would like some feedback.

access-list 50 remark Block Old Supplier Routes
access-list 50 deny 10.10.1.0 0.0.0.255
access-list 50 deny 192.168.1.0 0.0.0.255
access-list 50 permit any

router ospf 10
distribute-list 50 in GigabitEthernet0/1

As I understand it the ACL (50) would only be applied to inbound learnt routes only on interface Gi0/1. The same routes learnt from elsewhere (i.e.the new supplier) would populate our routing tables in the normal way.  And of course all routes learnt from the new supplier would be unaffected.

I know I can use route-maps and all kind of wonderful things - I just want a simple, quick, and safe solution to a temporary problem! 

Thank you

11 Replies 11

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame
Yes, the "distribute-list in", with OSPF, should suppress those route prefixes, as you desire on that router's route table. A possible problem, though, might be that router will still advertise those route prefixes to other OSPF neighbors.

E.g.: https://networklessons.com/ospf/ospf-distribute-list-filtering