cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

I need to block network address

MariaB1
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone. I am a beginner in BGP configuration. I have a following bgp router file. I need to block network IP 1.0.0.0/8 to directly access that. All other IPs  permitted to access. I tried to create an access list but it is not working probably because of my poor knowledge on syntax. If you can help me with this issue with correct syntax it would be a great help. Thank you.

12 Replies 12

Hello,

there are numerous ways to accomplish this, below is one of them:

router bgp 5
distribute-list prefix ALLOW_IN in
!
ip prefix-list ALLOW_IN seq 5 deny 1.0.0.0/8
ip prefix-list ALLOW_IN seq 10 permit 2.0.0.0/8
ip prefix-list ALLOW_IN seq 15 permit 3.0.0.0/8
ip prefix-list ALLOW_IN seq 20 permit 4.0.0.0/8

Thank you for your quick response. I really appreciate that. I tried to insert the line of codes in my bgpd files. I receive the following error now in my stdout log files:

There is no such command.
Error occured during reading below line.
distribute-list prefix ALLOW_IN in

Seems like distribute-list is an unknown command. Please help

Please note that I beleive it has something to do with the version of Quagga. I am using version 0.99.22.4. Thanks

Hello,

what BGP commands do you have available under the BGP process, and under the neighbor ?

Please excuse me for my poor knowledge on this. But not sure how do i check that. Is there a command for that? Thank you

Hello,

typically, if you just type the '?' question mark at the prompt, it will list the available options:

router bgp 5

?

neighbor x.x.x.x ?

Hello,

I think Quagga's BGP implementation supports route maps, so you could use the below. You need to apply the route map to all neighbors from which you want to filter routes:

!
route-map INBOUND_RM permit 10
match ip address prefix-list ALLOW_IN
!
neighbor 9.0.3.1 route-map INBOUND_RM in

Thank you so much. I see that just putting the lines: