cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

MPLS & increasing MTU size

SJerseyRob
Level 1
Level 1
I'm fairly new to Cisco and I've been reading about the need to increase the MTU size on (Gigabit)Ethernet interfaces in an MPLS network. I believe I'm pretty clear on the need to increase MTU size on (Gigabit)Ethernet interfaces on the CE router. (Just looking at the customer side only for this discussion.) But I'm not clear from my reading about the need to do that on the LAN-connecting (Gigabit)Ethernet interface on the CE router connecting the CE router to the (Gigabit)Ethernet ports on the distribution switch? MPLS PE router <--> GigE 0/1 [Customer CE router] GigE 0/2 <--> GigE 1/1 [Catalyst 3760] GigtE 1/2 <--> LAN I'm thinking (for example) that GigE 0/1 on the CE router should be configured like this: ! CE(config-if)# mtu 1524 CE(config-if)# mpls mtu 1524 CE(config-if)# ip mtu 1500 ! (1) Should that config be repeated on GigE 0/2 on the CE router? (2) Also on GigE 1/1 on the 3760? (3) Also on GigE 1/2 on the 3760? Thanks for putting up with what is probably a very basic question! Rob
5 Replies 5

Hello,

as I understand it, non MPLS enabled interfaces do not need to have their MTU size changed; the default MTU size of 1500 is still applicable to traffic coming from the end hosts.

Ditto.

MPLS, like VLAN tagging, automatically extends the size of the frame so, as far as I know, you don't need to configure an increase in the size of the MTU.

Joseph - thanks for responding!

Georg

Thanks for responding. I think you've answered my ultimate questions - should the MTU size be increased on GigE 0/2 on the CE router and on GigE 1/1 and GigE 1/2 on the distribution switch.

Just to be sure, (A) do you agree that MTU needs to be increased on GigE 0/1 on the CE router since that's a MPLS enabled interface? (B) You mention traffic coming into GigE 0/2 on the CE router *from* the end hosts. Is your answer the same for traffic exiting GigE 0/2 on the CE router *to* the end hosts?