cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Need full guidance and help with setting up a CCNA lab environment

mrS1934
Level 1
Level 1
Hi! I would like to know how to setup a CCNA lab environment, i recently bought a CCNA lab kit off of ebay that has two Cisco 2900 series routers and two cisco switches Catalyst 2960 series.

I have no experience working with tech and I struggle to find any guidance or full tutorial that explains how to set up a small scale network environment using two Cisco 2900 series and two Cisco switches catalyst 2960 series. I tried contacting the vendor that sells the CCNA kit and they werent providing me the right direction and guidance with setting it up. I figured it would be best to try to reach out to the Cisco Community to see if anyone can help, thanks
5 Replies 5

Hello,

In my opinion you may want to hold off on the gear (possibly get your money back). I understand you spent money but here is my reasoning.

For the CCNA Cisco offers a free program called Packet tracer you can download for free (just need a free Cisco Netacad account). I suggest Packet Tracer (PT) for several reasons. 

1. Its free.

2. It has about 80-90% of the commands and functionality you need to pass the CCNA

3. You can set up topologies with 10-20+ devices to practice all kinds of topologies and scenarios to help you understand all the protocols involved.

4. The ones who sell those CCNA kits just want your money and may not even have a CCNA or know what a CCNA is. They just sell you gear...doesn't mean they know how to work it.

5. A lot of study materials to include online resources such as YouTube tutorials, Official Certification Guides by Cisco Press and Trainer websites provide free PT files to download of many labs to practice with. You will rarely have to create your own but can if you want to.

6. No extra power requirement.

A couple resources to download PT labs:

https://www.thekeithbarker.com/

https://www.certskills.com/