Views
Helpful
Replies

PBR on Cisco ASA

Pounii
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie here so probably I'm missing something.

I got from my work an old ASA 5515-x, to use for personal purpose at home and (why not?) to start learning something new. I have 2 ISP, one wired (7 Mb in down, 0,3 Mb in up) and the other is a 4g connection. My target here is to use the 4g connection like the default one, and use the wired just for game connections. The best way to handle this is to use a PBR and ACL to change route just when the connection is in some ports ranges. I was able to do that, the strange fact is that when I simulate to lost the game connection (both case, router unreachable and router up, but line down), ASA doesn't swap the traffic flow to the default route, or better, it do it just if I close the game and start it again, otherwise all the traffic are dropped. I don't think this is normal ( in a work enviorment will be unacceptable for sure). In order to track the reachability of the route map I used the command below:

sla monitor 1
type echo protocol ipIcmpEcho 192.168.1.1 interface outside2 <--- the connection game 
sla monitor schedule 1 life forever start-time now

I checked it and is working fine, then I linked to a track used in the route-map

track 100 rtr 1 reachability

route-map Games permit 10
match ip address Games
set ip next-hop verify-availability 192.168.1.1 1 track 100

When I simulate the connection drop, I can see with

show route-map

that it recognise the route is down. I set up also the default route

route outside1 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.8.1 1 

Attached the config file

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions
23 Replies 23

Pounii
Level 1
Level 1

I can not open zip file now, but are you apply the

route-map policy

under the interface ??