cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Policy Based Routing for Zerto

AnthonySMillsIT
Level 1
Level 1

At our DR branch we have two ISPs running currently. I am trying to get all the Zerto traffic to go on one ISP and everything else to go to the other. I have attached the Packet Tracer picture to see the topology. I have never done PBR before but talking with Cisco has lead me down this path, unfortunetly the engineer I have is unable or unwilling to help me with the actual configuration so I'm trying to watch some free CBT Nuggets to see what I can do. This is what I have so far:

Create ACL

#IP access-List Extended Match-Zerto-ACL

#permit ip 10.100.10.131 255.255.255.255 any

#permit ip 10.100.10.132 255.255.255.255 any

#permit ip 10.100.10.133 255.255.255.255 any

#permit ip 10.100.10.134 255.255.255.255 any

#exit

If I am correct this creates the list of allowed IPs to apply to the PBR, this would be our Zerto server and the Z-VRAs that we have on each ESX server. I am unsure here if I want IP, UDP, or TCP. To be safe I guess I could go back and permit each one for all three. This is my first question.

Then create the Route Map

#route-map Zerto-QX permit 10

#match ip address Match-Zerto-ACL

#set ip next hop 10.213.0.199

#exit

This one seems simple enough. I think this is all I need to add on this one. If not please let me know.

Then apply the PBR to an interface. 

#int gig0/0/0

#ip policy route map Zerto-QX

#end

This is my second question. As we have a single in and out on this router to a switch I am unsure if it would work as I know you are supposed to apply to the closest interface to the device. I supposed I would just have to apply this to the only interface we have and see what happens.

Could anyone give a little advice on any of this?

8 Replies 8

Hello

At our DR branch we have two ISPs running currently. I am trying to get all the Zerto traffic to go on one ISP and everything else to go to the other.