cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

python: logon to devices and collect data

irfanrayma
Level 1
Level 1

I have to build script so that it will logon to all devices in our network and collect show inventory, show ip int bri and copy it in the csv file.

is there any easy way to do it using python or any other language? I am new to automation.

7 Replies 7

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame
"Easy" is very subjective.
I've used both PERL and Python scripts (from a Win 7 host) to access Cisco devices, interactively. The former via telnet, the latter via telnet or SSH.
With the telnet packages in CPAN, I found telnet access, using PERL, rather simple.
With Python, I used v3.6 which limits packages you might find (compared to using v2.7) and also supporting SSH further limited available packages. So, I ended up using a command line version of PuTTY and invoked it from my Python script. The major issue then was interacting with the PuTTY program and not waiting on the command line PuTTY program to close after sending it its first command. (How to do this, under Windows, isn't well documented as most doing this kind of scripting would be running from a Linux host.)
I've also used PERL to query Cisco devices via SMTP, which seems to run much faster than interacting with the device using telnet.

Mark Malone
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi

im jst looking to see if i have an EEM script that will help you get all the commands but for now this will get your running config sorted and sent to either flash or to an external server every day to start with very stable feature

archive
 path flash:Archive.cfg
 maximum 2
 write-memory
 time-period 1440

or to tftp server

archive
 path tftp: put your url here
 maximum 2
 write-memory
 time-period 1440

you can also send it using other protocols

(config-archive)#path ?
  bootflash:  Write archive on bootflash: file system
  flash:      Write archive on flash: file system
  ftp:        Write archive on ftp: file system