Views
Helpful
Replies

Q1 - 2 Router and a Switch

JRS
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All, 

I am a newbie who has picked Networking just Last Week for career change, mostly reading on my own.

I have few very basic questions which I would like your help with. These may seem stupid to learned ones but please bear with me. I am putting my first question in this forum where I am trying to understand how the traffic flow between 2 routers connected via switch. I am not looking for any ready-made answer hence I have put my understanding for you all to correct/amend. Thanks in advance. 

Let’s assume, I have two routers connected via switch as - 

Router 1  -> Switch 1 -> Router 2  ->Service Provider Network

Situation 1 -> Both Routers are on same subnet (say 200.10.1.0/24) and no VLAN defined on switch.

Steps - 

1. R1 tries to send a packet to R2, put R2 IP as L3 address. 
  2. As it doesn't have the MAC address of R2, it sends an ARP request, switch will forward this to all other host connected including R2. R2 will recognise the IP and send back its MAC to R1 via switch. At this point, S1 has the MAC of R1 and R2, R1 has MAC of R2
  3. R1 includes R2 MAC and IP in packet, send to S1, S1 reads R2 MAC and forward the packet to R2. 

Question - If there are multiple switch connected to R1, is there any routing need to be defined in R1 to send the packet for R2 via S1? I believe, there should at least be a routing for R2 IP in R1?

Situation 2 -> Both Routers are on different subnet (R1 - 200.10.1.0/24, R2 - 200.10.2.0/24) and no VLAN on switch.

Steps – No difference from Situation1.

Situation 3 -> Both Routers are on same/different subnet  and they are on different VLANs (VLAN 10 – R1 and VLAN 20-R2)

Steps – 

1. This will require SVI for inter-VLAN routing. (R1 and VLAN 10 IP on same subnet, R2 and VLAN 20 on same subnet). Here S1 will behave as L3 switch.
  2. R1 should have VLAN10 ip configured in routing table to route all traffic for R2 IP.