cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Question regarding LAN to WAN setup.....

chadtastic
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new at routing and don't have much experience in it other than what I've learned in CCNA.  I'm going for my CCNP now and am starting to study for ROUTE.  As such, I need to lab, lab, lab.

Please bear with me as I'm pretty much new at a lot of this stuff.

I have a 2600 and currently, it only has one Ethernet port.  I'd like to get a WAN card/WIC for it but I'm not exactly sure which one I should get (or if one even exists.)

I do have an extra T1 CSU/DSU card but I don't think I can use that to connect to anything but a T1 line, which I don't have.  (Note this is going to connect to one of my home Linksys Smart router's ports so as to have a LAN to WAN setup.  The Linksys provides Internet access throughout the house.)

I did try to connect the T1 card to one of the Linksys's LAN ports but I'm not getting any activity at all.  (This leads me to believe this card is SOLELY to connect to a T1.)

Basically, I'd like to have the Linksys on one network and the Cisco on a completely different network and have the two networks communicate with each other after configuring the appropriate routing protocol.  I've already tried this using ROAS utilizing VLANs and it worked perfectly but I now want to try it with completely different networks.  For example, my Linksys will be on 192.168.x.x and the Cisco will be on say, 10.1.x.x.

Does Cisco offer a WAN card for my 2600 that isn't T1 and that will work with one of the Linksys's ports to accomplish this?

I think I've read there is the NM-1E module that would give me an extra port.  But is that used as a LAN port or a WAN port?  Can an extra LAN card act as a WAN card if I simply configure it for the different network?

Thanks!

6 Replies 6

Aztec_
Level 1
Level 1